Humbled by kind words

The editors of MIR10 – published next Thursday (26 Sept) and available to order at Amazon – have been compiling a running blog of the author’s comments on being edited – and the editor’s comments on editing the authors. I’m still not entirely used to the idea that my words are about to appear in print, but Stephanie Cooper’s comments about editing my story were so kind and gracious it brought a bit of a gulp here. Thank you, Stephanie: it was a joy to work with you, and I wish you every possible success now that MA is so nearly complete for you.

I’ve taken the liberty of re-posted her words here, but please visit the MIR10 Tumblr blog to read the posts by the other contributors and editors: I’m slowly working my way through the whole collection, and finding many really great stories along the way. (Hats off especially so far to Amanda Crane, Jacquelyn Shreeves-Lee, Charlie Fish and Joel Pearcey, but you’ll have to buy the book to read them – and I’m knowingly omitting many others I’ve not had the chance to read yet!)

Stephanie’s words follow:

I remember reading “GJ 526 1-A” and hanging on the last few lines, blinking back tears. Beautiful, I thought—I still think. He has this natural honesty in the way he writes, the way he brings out the human in his characters. There was a certain warmth in the way questioned what “family” really means, explored the self-denial of passion through his main character, Adam. I knew his story had to be in MIR10. When asked which writers I’d like to take on for content editing, Dave’s was the first name I requested.

I admit I was a bit nervous. I felt a connection with the piece and his characters, but I’d never done content editing before. Sure, I had years of classroom workshop experience, but this was the first time I went face-to-face with the writer on such a personal level. The process was intimate. My nerves faded, though, when I met him to talk about his work. Dave was endlessly patient and as the story was polished I grew very proud of the work we did. I couldn’t have asked for a more painless first editorial experience.

You have a comment? Go ahead ...

